Built by the Anglo-Norman John de Courcy over 800 years ago, Carrickfergus Castle has long been the centre of a power struggle for those wanting to control the important port.
Besieged by the Scots, English, Irish and French at various points throughout its history, it has racked up over 750 years of continuous military occupation until 1928, when it was transferred from the War Department to the Ministry of Finance for preservation as an ancient monument. However its days of action were not over. During World War II, it was used as an air raid shelter.
The castle now houses historical displays as well as cannons from the 17th to the 19th centuries and visitors are encouraged to explore the castle’s large halls and dark corners - there are ramparts, dungeons and even winding staircases with trip steps to deter any invaders.
Visitor centre, Guided tours - (advance booking recommended), Audio-visual theatre, Hire facilities, Gift shop, Educational packages, Special events and Interpretative models.
Adult - £5.00, Child (age 4 - 16) - £3.00
Senior Citizen - £3.00
Student and Benefit Claimants (ID required) - £3.00
Child under 4 - Free
Family (up to 5 members) - £13.00
Group rate(10 plus, must be pre-booked) - £3 per person
You can book guided group tours by contacting Carrickfergus Castle on T: 02893 351273. For more information about the Castle or visitor information contact the Visitor Centre on T: 028 93358222 or E: firstname.lastname@example.org
Summer opening times (April - September)
* Please note: Last admission is 30 minutes before closing time.
Winter opening times (October - March)
Daily 10am - 4pm (last entry 3.30pm)
There is limited disabled access for wheelchair users.
All children must be accompanied by an adult.
No dogs allowed except guide dogs and assistance dogs